Indian flag

Indian Football Legends

Neville Stephen J. D'Souza (1 January 1932 – 16 March 1980)
was an Indian footballer who represented his nation at the 1956 Summer Olympics, where he became the first Asian player to score a hat-trick in an Olympic Games.D'Souza finished the tournament as joint top-scorer, with 4 goals in 3 games. D'Souza played club football for Bombay. D'Souza married Lyra and they have a son named Nigel and two daughters Liesel and Fleurel. D'Souza died of a brain haemorrhage on 16 March 1980.

Baichung Bhutia born 15 December 1976).
Bhaichung Bhutia is an Indian footballer of Sikkimese-Bhutia descent who plays as a striker. Bhutia is considered to be the torchbearer of Indian football in the international arena.He is often nicknamed the Sikkimese Sniper because of his shooting skills in football.Three-time Indian Player of the Year I. M. Vijayan described Bhutia as "God's gift to Indian football".

Subimal Goswami (born 15 January 1938)
commonly known by his nickname Chuni Goswami is an Indian international footballer and first class cricketer. He was born in Kishoreganj District of undivided Bengal (now inBangladesh). As a striker, he played 50 international matches representing India. As a first class cricketer, he played Ranji Trophy for Bengal.

Jarnail Singh Dhillon
was a former Indian football player, who played as a stopper-back. He was the captain of the India national football team from 1965 to 1967. Because of his defensive skill, he is still considered as one of the most outstanding defenders of India. He was also one of the few players who played an important role in shaping the fate of the country's football during the 1950s and 1960s.

Pradip Kumar Banerjee (born 23 June 1936)
or PK Banerjee as he is called often, is an Indian footballer. He made 84 appearances for the India, scoring 65 goals during the course of his career. He was one of the first recipients of Arjuna Award, when the awards were instituted in 1961. He was awarded the prestigious Padma Shri in 1990 and was named Indian Footballer of the 20th century by FIFA.

Peter Thangaraj (1936 – 24 November 2008)
was an Indian football player. Thangaraj played for the Indian national side at the 1956 Melbourne and 1960 Rome Olympics. He was Voted Asia’s best goalkeeper in 1958. Thangaraj was a recipient ofArjuna Award for the year 1967.

Inivalappil Mani Vijayan (born 25 April 1969)
is a former professional Indian football player. Playing in the striker position, he formed a successful attacking partnership with Baichung Bhutia for the Indian national team in the late nineties and early 2000s. Vijayan was crowned Indian Player of the Year in 1993, 1997 and 1999,the first player to win the award multiple times.[2] He was also awarded the Arjuna award in 2003.[3]

Sailendra Nath Manna (1 September 1924 – 27 February 2012)
known popularly as Sailen Manna, was an Indian InternationalFootballer and is considered to be one of the best defenders India has ever produced.He has represented and captained India in different international competitions including Olympics and Asian Games. He also has a record of playing for Mohun Bagan, one of the best clubs in India, for a continuous period of 19 years.[2] He is the only Asian Footballer ever to be named among the 10 best Captains in the world by the English FA in 1953.

Mohammed Salim(Bengali: Audio , 1904 – 5 November 1980)
was an Indian footballer fromCalcutta (now Kolkata, West Bengal), which at the time was part of the British Raj. Salim was best known for his role in the fabled 1930s Mohammedan SC team which claimed five successive Calcutta Football League titles. He also became the first player from the Indian sub-continent to play for a European club, Celtic FC.

Inder Singh (born 23 December 1943)
was a former Indian football player and captain, manager and administrator. He played for Leaders Club (Jalandhar), JCT Mills and the Indian national team as a forward. He began his senior professional career with Leaders Club in 1962 and moved to JCT Mills in 1974. Playing for Punjab in the Santosh Trophy, he finished the 1974–75 tournament with 23 goals, a record that still stands. He was included in the Asian All Stars XI team in 1967 and 1968. He retired as a player in 1985. He had a successful managerial career with Mills from 1985 to 2001, following which he was associated with Mills as an administrator from 2001 to 2011. In 1969, he received the Arjuna Award in recognition of his contribution to Indian football.